Apr 21, 2018

Vampire books you all need to read


It seems that bookworms' love for vampires is as undead as the mythical creatures. When one would think that the trope is long forgotten, twitter surprises me by reminding just how much the YA community loves the bloodsucking creatures, which was the case a day or two ago when the talk of the day was vampires. So I tried to recall all the awesome vampire books I've read during that time I was obsessed with them ( come on, you've all gone through that phase ) and here's a list of books you all need to read!

Now before we go into it, I kinda omitted the really big franchises. The duh ones, like Twilight, Vampire Academy ( as much as I want to badly add the series) and House of Night. So these are kind of medium popular and lesser known recs.


Apr 12, 2018

Folktales not myths; region not religion || A guest post by Sayantani Dasgupta


Hello bookworms. First of all, to all my fellow tamil and Sri Lankan readers, happy new year! 

Today, I am extremely excited about the post I have for you all. We have a guest post by the amazing Sayantani Dasgupta, author of The Serpent's Secret, a fabulous desi MG which is hands down one of the most exciting 2018 books. Moreover, I am even more excited about what the guest post is about, it's a topic that I myself have always had strong feelings for - the blurred lines between mythology, history, religion and folktales when it comes to talking about culturally diverse books, especially but not limited, to desi books.


Mar 13, 2018

Because girls can be nerds too || Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner ( A discussion review with Gabrielle )

Today's the official release day of one of my favourite 2018 releases and the sophomore novel of one of the best people ever! Whitney Gardner's amazing story Chaotic Good comes out today, and I teamed up with my fellow Lankan bookworm Gabrielle - go check out her blog everyone - to tell you all why you should read this beautiful story! Also I am really excited because we're doing a little play on Dungeons and Dragons with this review, and have some cool art courtesy of Gabby, so let's get down to business! :D

Title : Chaotic Good
Author : Whitney Gardner
Publisher : Knopf
Release Date : March 13th 2018
Synopsis :
Cameron's cosplay--dressing like a fictional character--is finally starting to earn her attention--attention she hopes to use to get into the CalTech costume department for college. But when she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans.

When Cameron's family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse. Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town--her main destination for character reference--is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop.

At her twin brother's suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she's shocked at how easily she's accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her bro Cooper, dragged along for good measure.

But as her "secret identity" gets more and more entrenched, Cameron's portfolio falls by the wayside--and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious.


Mar 6, 2018

Ten quotable quotes I love

Out of the bazillion words that make a book, some stand out so much, either because of their meaning, significance, symbolism or just because they're so pretty. Today let's highlight such words, memorable quotes that I have grown to love from the books I've read.

Also, since most quotes seem to grace merch these days, this is also a chance to showcase some gorgeous art and merch!


Feb 19, 2018

Sarah Glenn Marsh talks Reign of the Fallen, queer rep and #ownvoices narratives.


Reign of the Fallen is hands down one of the most exciting releases of 2018. The gloriously queer and beautifully captivating fantasy is a book I'll instantly recommend to everyone. The book's MC Odessa is so badass yet so relatable, and it's impossible not to love her. 

Today we have the author, Sarah Glenn Marsh over at the blog to talk about the book, and she revealed her inspiration, her view on #ownvoices narratives and some exciting insider info!


Feb 13, 2018

10 underrated love stories of YA

Happy early Valentine's Day all of you!!! :)

 Of course, this time around the year, we always talk about romantic reads. Or flail over our OTPs. Or muse over our non canon ships. However, we sometimes talk about the same ships over and over again. I love myself some Sydrian mention, and I would always flail over Kaz and Inej, but today I wanted to spotlight the underrated love sagas of YA that I absolutely love.


Feb 8, 2018

The tale of the daughter of the dessert || Reign the Earth by A.C.Gaughen


Title : Reign the Earth
Author : A.C.Gaughen
Publisher : Bloomsbury
Release Date : January 30th 2018
Synopsis : 
Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

Feb 6, 2018

Here's an ode to the senior citizens of my TBR

My TBR list is an ever growing mess. I neglect taking a look at it, in fear of entering the dark hole of Goodreads out of which I won't be able to return for a while. But at times when I do pay a little visit to the shelf, I notice some books I have added ages ago - we're talking 2012/13 - and still haven't read. The interest of a bookworm can sometimes be so fickle.

Here are ten senior citizens of my TBR, some I hope I'll get to really soon, and some I probably won't ever take up.


Jan 23, 2018

The story of female Spartacus || Blood and Sand by C.V.Wyk ( Blog Tour + Review + Giveaway)


Title : Blood and Sand
Author : C.V.Wyk
Publisher : Tor Teen
Release Date : January 16th 2018
Synopsis : 
FORGED IN BATTLE...
FROM THE DUST OF THE ARENA...
A LEGEND WILL RISE

The action-packed tale of a 17-year-old warrior princess and a handsome gladiator who dared take on the Roman Republic―and gave rise to the legend of Spartacus...

For teens who love strong female protagonists in their fantasy and historical fiction, Blood and Sand is a stirring, yet poignant tale of two slaves who dared take on an empire by talented debut author C. V. Wyk.

Roma Victrix. The Republic of Rome is on a relentless march to create an empire―an empire built on the backs of the conquered, brought back to Rome as slaves.

Attia was once destined to rule as the queen and swordmaiden of Thrace, the greatest warrior kingdom the world had seen since Sparta. Now she is a slave, given to Xanthus, the Champion of Rome, as a sign of his master’s favor. Enslaved as a child, Xanthus is the preeminent gladiator of his generation.

Against all odds, Attia and Xanthus form a tentative bond. A bond that will spark a rebellion. A rebellion that threatens to bring the Roman Republic to its end―and gives rise to the legend of Spartacus...

Jan 16, 2018

#Lovefiltershate || Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed




Title : Love, Hate and Other Filters
Author : Samira Ahmed
Publisher : Soho Teen
Release Date : January 16th 2018
Synopsis : 
A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.



Jan 10, 2018

The story of teenage Bruce Wayne || Batman by Marie Lu


Title : Batman : Nightwalker
Author : Marie Lu
Publisher : Penguin Random House
Release Date : January 2nd 2018
Synopsis :

Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city's elites are being executed as their mansions' security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family's fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he's forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city's most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce's only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.